What Romney Should Say; What Santorum Should Not Have Said

Mitt Romney has made repeated gaffes calling attention to his wealth. The latest was mentioning his wife’s two Cadillacs.

Here’s what he should say:

“My fellow Americans. I come before you as a rich man. I have a quarter of a billion dollars. That’s billion with a B.

“I won’t hide it. I earned this money. I worked hard for it. I was very successful. I’m proud of that, and I enjoy my wealth, which gives me a lifestyle most folks can’t afford. That’s what motivates people like me to work hard and take risks. That people can succeed like this is what makes America great, and it gives us the most dynamic economy on Earth, which is good for everybody.

“The rap on being rich is that you’re out of touch with the problems of ordinary people. But look, I didn’t get rich by being stupid and not knowing what’s going on. No, I don’t personally have to struggle paying my bills, but I know that’s true for too many Americans, and as a human being I can understand perfectly well what that’s like. You know, rich people may not have money problems but they have different ones; everybody has their problems; that’s what life is about.

“It’s the job of a president to solve problems. That’s what I’ve been doing all my life, with great success, that’s how I made my money, and that’s why I believe I can be a good president. And because I want an America where everyone can be as successful as I’ve been.”

* * * *

In a previous post I explained (concerning Romney’s Mormonism) why I generally leave religion aside when casting a vote. I cited John F. Kennedy’s landmark 1960 speech to the Houston ministers, assuring them that his presidency would not be controlled by the Catholic church. I said this reflected a broad national consensus, clarifying a line that no president could cross.

Candidate Sanctorum, in a recent interview, avowed that that JFK speech made him want “to throw up.” He explained, “I don’t believe in an America where the separation of church and state is absolute.” Taken together these statements show he would cross the line which I said no president could. This is not an epithet I like to throw around, but I call him un-American.

Santorum doesn’t even understand what church-state separation means. He thinks it means “only people of non-faith can come into the public square and make their case.” Uh, no.

One could go on at some length enumerating the absurdities spewing from this walking Bible of a candidate. (Try here.) I’ll mention one: his pledge to resuscitate “don’t ask, don’t tell.” Before it was ended, there might have been an arguably defensible concern that there could be problems. But now that we see no such problems, what is the argument for barring gays from the military? All that’s left is a pure mean-spirited bigotry that could only emanate from Santorum’s Biblebrain.

 Apparently Sanctorum’s religion-infested ethics not only justifies gay-bashing, but it did not stop him from robocalls urging Democrats to infiltrate the Republican primary and vote against Romney because Romney opposed the auto bailouts – as did Santorum himself. This carries American political hypocrisy and dishonesty to a new low (and that’s really saying something). So much for God-given morality.

This is one candidate I oppose on grounds of religion.

One Response to “What Romney Should Say; What Santorum Should Not Have Said”

  1. How Romney can win the debate (and election) « The Rational Optimist Says:

    […] he (Haidt) thought necessary. Well, I’ve been speechwriting like that for Romney (posted here on 3/1 and 8/19). And now David Brooks, in his latest column, has given it a shot too, for Romney’s […]

Leave a Reply

