In Quest of Infinite Jest: A Non-Book Review (A post-modern post)

imagesDavid Foster Wallace’s 1996 novel Infinite Jest is a literary/cultural icon, a sprawling phantasmagoric landmark of modern – or should I say post-modern or post-post-modern – fiction. Wherever writers write about writing, Infinite Jest and its author are mentioned so often it’s like a tic. While drafting this blog post, I had the radio on, with an author interview, and she cited Infinite Jest. As did Maureen Dowd in a column I read just an hour later.Unknown

Sadly, Wallace, after achieving such acclaim, in 2008, committed suicide. But perhaps that was what really turbocharged his literary reputation — as in Van Gogh’s case, a great career move.

Anyway, feeling bludgeoned by ubiquitous obeisances to this book, I finally say to myself: OK, OKI should read it!

Of course, I could go to a bookstore or library or Amazon. But several local libraries run fantastic used book sales, of which I’m a devotee. For just a buck or two, I find lots of books I can sell (mainly on ancient history); for gifts; and of course to read. So I started to look out for Infinite Jest.

images-1Several years, and quite a few sales later, no luck. It began to seem bizarre. One of the most mooned about books of modern times – you’d imagine some copies were sold, to turn up in used book sales. But the more I failed to find it, the more determined I became. And it’s not some slim little volume that might be overlooked, but a 1,000+ page behemoth you could hardly miss.

The most recent sale had table after table of fat novels, all those Pattersons and Koontzes and Picoults, etc., at which normally I turn up my nose. But this sea of dreck I now set about searching, for just one, a needle in a haystack, a holy grail,images-2 almost maniacally, like Ahab obsessed with his white whale, spurring myself on: “This time I shall not be denied.” Like it had to be there, had to be, if only I looked hard enough. But yet again my quest met with defeat. I found no Infinite Jest. Not even A Little Jest. No Jest whatsoever.

So I cannot give you my usual snarky book review. Perhaps Infinite Jest doesn’t, after all, really exist. Maybe that itself is the infinite jest.

UPDATE MAY 4 — The great thing about the Schenectady Library’s book sales, in addition to hugeosity, is that the books are very well sorted, with the prime fiction section alphabetized by author. At today’s starting bell, I dove straight for W, and THERE IT WAS. Such a big fat book I actually could spot my prey from halfway across the room.
Now all I need do is read it.

 

Tags:

6 Responses to “In Quest of Infinite Jest: A Non-Book Review (A post-modern post)”

  1. thoughtsatintervals Says:

    Infinite Jest is a fantastic novel, but one which, due to its length, complexity, difficulty and myriad other challenging properties, I will never recommend to just anyone, principally because I know there’s a better than even chance that they won’t enjoy it. However, once someone has shown a little interest in it, it’s something of a sign of readiness to read, and in those cases I’ll have no hesitation in recommending it. In this vein, I recommend Infinite Jest to you, and also say, maybe it’s better to give up waiting for it to appear in a book sale. You can always sell your copy in this manner later, maybe you’ll start the trend. That said, I wouldn’t ever want to sell my copy. Enjoy!

    Best wishes,
    Andrew

  2. Mark Lyons Says:

    I kept an eye out for other David Foster Wallace books in used bookstores after reading Infinite Jest, and they are tough to find. My friendly neighborhood used bookstore owner said they were tough to find; people are hanging on to their copies. This book will stick with you for a long time. The best advice I received before I tackled it is read it with at least two bookmarks, if not three; one for the text, one for the footnotes, and one for the flashbacks / digressions. It’s been a while since a book kept me up past midnight, this one did on a regular basis.

  3. Somanabolic Muscle Maximizer Review Says:

    ll see much better results with this diet plan than
    you would with others that use some generic formula to calculate your nutrient needs.
    To find out if it is actually true and to understand better if Kyle Leon’s system is generally for you or not, let’s look into a few of the benefits and drawbacks of the
    product. Yes, obviously, it is the most affordable way of buying
    protein since all you want to do is to obtain
    those egg whites with a tray of offspring.

  4. Infinite Jest—All Too Finite | The Rational Optimist Says:

    […] may recall my recent post about hunting for David Foster Wallace’s 1996 novel, Infinite Jest, finally snagged at a used […]

  5. abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships articles Says:

    abusive relationships abusive relationships signs abusive relationships stories abusive relationships quotes abusive relationships hotline abusive relationships quiz abusive relationships tumblr abusive relationships movies abusive relationships arti…

    In Quest of Infinite Jest: A Non-Book Review (A post-modern post) | The Rational Optimist

  6. besi wf Says:

    tly toenvironment who on altafbasic can yourweb criptionsezinearticle

Leave a Reply

