Subluxation Poetry

dislodgedI am pleased to report that my beloved wife, Therese L. Broderick, is the author of Dislodged: Poems for My Mother’s Weeks of Subluxation.* It is a lovely production, enlivened by charming botanical art. And while it is a small book, issued by a small press, unlike most such it is not self-published or subsidized! So I am very proud of her achievement.

Now, Therese and I have had some intensive debates over issues of poetics; and the chief point of difference between us is that she knows what she is talking about whereas I do not. Nevertheless, I am sure her work is very good.Unknown

Indeed, there is one poem in the book which I consider to be of the highest merit, the one about sock removal. I can state without hesitation that this is the finest sock removal poem I’ve ever read. By a considerable margin. This one poem is worth the price of the book (though the book is literally priceless).

For more information, please see Therese’s blog, Poet Apace.

* Subluxation refers to dislodged vertebrae; the poems concern Therese’s interactions with her mother during the latter’s recuperation from this injury.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Subluxation Poetry”

  1. poetryaboutart Says:

    from Frank’s wife Therese — Thank you for promoting my poetry, Frank! My life as a poet would not be possible without your ongoing, steadfast support — emotional support, artistic support, financial support. I would also like to thank Benevolent Bird Press, the local press which published “Dislodged.” Also, I’d like to thank The Rootdrinker Institute which is distributing the publication.

  2. Wolfgang Says:

    …and how many sock removal poems have you ever read?
    However, congrats to Therese- an energetic, kind, and very talented friend.

  3. reuben Says:

    Youre consequently cool! My spouse and i dont presume Ive study anything this way before. Consequently nice to get somebody with a few original the thing it this subject. realy thank you for beginning this upwards. this website is something that is needed on the net, someone with some originality. useful job for taking something new to the web!

Leave a Reply

