Simultaneous pleasures

Me

Me

It is sunny, the sky a vivid blue. It’s in the seventies, with a gentle breeze. The warmth, modulated periodically by caresses of air, feels delicious on my body.

I’m relaxing in my lounge chair, leaning back lazily, upon a soft cushion. I have another little cushion to hug the small of my back.

images-1Now add lunch. Some sweet grapes, crunchy tortilla chips, and my favorite iced “sparkling water beverage.”

And now add a good book, to engage the mind while I eat. unknownOr else paper and pen to scribble out something like this, another pleasure. Is it sensory overload?

What does it mean to truly experience something? I try to attend to pleasures; to be fully present to them; when I’m eating something, to be sure I’m really tasting it, without my mind being elsewhere.

But one’s mind is always elsewhere, at least partially. It’s not even a unitary phenomenon, the mind is always doing many things at once. unknown-1And while we think we can multi-task, studies have shown we’re better when focusing on one thing at a time. Trying to do two things at once means neither gets done as well.

So is it possible to enjoy all these different pleasures simultaneously, or does my consciousness actually flit flightily back and forth among them? Do I really fully taste the grapes while my mind is engaged with what I’m reading? And am I still really feeling the Sun’s warmth?

And maybe add some music . . . and suppose further still that what I’m reading is erotically arousing . . . .

5 Responses to “Simultaneous pleasures”

  1. ThereseLBroderick Says:

    maybe went too far with this one

    On Wed, Oct 5, 2016 at 8:30 AM, The Rational Optimist wrote:

    > rationaloptimist posted: ” It is sunny, the sky a vivid blue. It’s in the > seventies, with a gentle breeze. The warmth, modulated periodically by > caresses of air, feels delicious on my body. I’m relaxing in my lounge > chair, leaning back lazily, upon a soft cushion. I have ano” >

  2. themediocremothersmemorandum Says:

    All sounds joyous to me!

  3. BASIL C. DEMETRIADI Says:

    This last phrase wasn’t really necessary, but if you insist in showing-off you should put your age next to it.

  4. frankzollo Says:

    I’m gonna take the high road here and say that the “hard problem” of consciousness – how neural activity in the brain creates the mind – is of great interest. The answers lie at the intersection of evolutionary biology and cognitive neuroscience, and we’re learning more every year.

  5. Frank S. Robinson Says:

    I am 69. I thought I phrased the final bit decorously. Erotic arousal is indeed one of life’s pleasures.

Leave a Reply

