My Valentine’s Day poem

Microsoft Word - LOVE POEMS cover copy.docxMy wife being a poet, I’ve been writing poems for her for occasions like Valentine’s Day, birthdays, etc. (I published a little book of them.) When she was learning Spanish, I wrote some in Spanish, which I’d studied in high school. Lately she’s been learning German, so I thought I should write her Valentine’s Day poem in that language. The only problem was that I never studied it.

However, my mother was born in Germany, and I got some familial German exposure – mainly hearing her daily two-hour telephone debates with her mother (always on the same subject, “whether Lotte has been a good daughter”). Also, I’m a coin dealer, and buy a lot from big German auctions, whose catalogs of course use the language.

imagesSo I decided to try writing a poem, with my very limited vocabulary. Actually, it almost wrote itself – with just a bit of help from Google Translate (very handy; you can use it to translate my poem). One word I made up (Germans like long combination words):

Ein Valentinstaggedicht

In unserer welt
Von sturm und drang,
Mit einem weissen haus
Wo wohnt ein
Stinkendenscheissestück,
Du bist mein fels
Mein leuchtendes licht,
imagesMeine wunderbare frau;
Ich liebe dich
Bigly.

 

5 Responses to “My Valentine’s Day poem”

  1. DAN FAREK Says:

    H Frank:
    The Google Translator leaves a lot to be desired.
    I decided to try my feeble hand for my wife in Spanish.

    The opening line is “I LOVE YOU BUNCHES”.
    Google translated this as
    “I LOVE YOU PACKAGES”

    Maybe I should try an Erotic Poem? The translation should be a hoot!

    Dan

  2. Axel Kornfuehrer Says:

    Hi Frank, your German is good! As a fluent German speaker, I congratulate you. And I love the word you made up. “Ein stinkendes Scheißstück” would be 100% correct German, but any German would understand what you wrote. However, with the new orthography that reduces the use of the “ß” (sharp S), the spelling might be “Scheisstück” (can’t have 3 “S” in a row). Viele Grüße, Axel

  3. bruce Says:

    love is a beautiful thing, one would wish it weren’t so elusive.

  4. Allen Says:

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Bless you!|

  5. rationaloptimist Says:

    Allen, I (obviously) use WordPress, it’s free, and works fine. Their website makes it very easy to start.

Leave a Reply

